Are you worried about your child’s reading level?

As a mum I can recall my kids running out from school at 3.30 and handing me their reading book.  I can also recall worrying when their friends had a different colour book.  Does this ring a bell with you?  If so, read on!

So what level book should your child be reading in school?

Here is our ‘all you need to know about the Oxford Reading Tree’ parents guide to help you understand their system and to see if your child is at about the right level.

I cannot stress enough that every child is different and makes progress at different rates; both of my kids seemed to lag behind their classmates until the age of 9, when they made a sudden leap in progress.

What is the Oxford Reading Tree?

The vast majority (around 80%) of primary schools now use the Oxford Reading Tree to help kids learn to read. This includes series such as Biff, Chip and Kipper, Floppy’s Phonics, Traditional Tales, Songbirds Phonics, inFact, and Story Sparks.  One of my personal favourites is the Project X Alien Adventure series, specifically designed to motivate boys to read independently – something that really helped my son.

What are Oxford Reading Tree bands?

Confusingly, (at least to me!), each Oxford Reading Tree book is given a colour AND a numbered level. When the Oxford books series was created, they gave each book a colour level, but then later on as national curriculums developed, ‘book levels’ came along across different reading schemes to indicate the reading level of each book, so these are now included too.

Recommended Books

Biff, Chip & Kipper Books Levels 1-3 (Age 4-6)


Oxford Reading Tree Band Colours & Levels split by School Year and Age

Biff, Chip & Kipper Set Levels 4-6 (Age 5-7)